Association for Consumer Research

Distinguished Service Award

About the Award

Established in 1989, this award “recognizes the dedication and devotion of a member who has served the organization with the energy and generosity beyond the call of duty.” The award “expresses the Association’s deepest gratitude to one who has helped its members in ways that have built a stronger community of scientists and scholars in the field of consumer research.” The award is given at intervals corresponding to significant anniversaries of the association–say, for example, the 20th, 25th, 30th, 40th, 50th, etc. It is given using exactly the same procedure that characterizes the Fellows Award–i.e. via nominations from the Fellows Committee and selection by the full Board of Directors. The ACR Distinguished Service Award is completely independent from the Fellows Award in the sense that (a) it rests on different criteria (service vs. scholarship) and (b) the same person could, in theory, win both awards (but preferably not in the same year).

2024 Recipient

Dr. Julie Ozanne

Julie Ozanne is a consumer researcher specialising in alternative methodologies for the study of social problems, such as interpretive, critical, participatory, and community action research methods. She also examines the problems of the poor and the low literate, as well as new forms of sustainable exchange based on sharing.

Her scholarship has appeared in the Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of Public Policy & Marketing, Journal of International Business Studies, Journal of Business Research, and Journal of Marketing Management, among other outlets. She is an associate editor at the Journal of Consumer Research, and on the editorial review board of Journal of Public Policy & Marketing, AMS Review, Consumption, Markets, and Culture, and Journal of Marketing Management.

She has received over a dozen teaching awards.

Past Distinguished Service Award Winners

Harold H. Kassarjian

Don Lehmann

Keith Hunt