Association for Consumer Research


Board of Directors

The Association for Consumer Research (ACR) was founded in 1969 by a small group of consumer behavior researchers whose informal meeting at the Ohio State University led to the vision of a yearly conference devoted to the study of consumer behavior.  Today, ACR’s mission is to advance consumer research and facilitate the exchange of scholarly information among members of academia, industry, and government worldwide. One of the key functions of ACR is to facilitate the growth and advancement of the field of consumer research. ACR hosts and supports a number of conferences as well as reviews and publishes scholarly research publications.

Kristin Diehl
University of Southern California


Rebecca Ratner
University of Maryland


Tina Lowrey
HEC Paris


Hristina Nikolova
Boston College


Barbara Kahn
University of Pennsylvania

Academic-Industry Director

Aziza Jones
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Academic Non-Profit Government Director

Ana Valenzuela
Baruch College

International Director

Leonard Lee
National University of Singapore

At-large Director

Mary Steffel
Northeastern University

At-large Director

Rajiv Vaidyanathan
Executive Director
University of Minnesota – Duluth

ACR Executive Director

Rajiv Vaidyanathan, PhD (Washington State University), is a professor of marketing at University of Minnesota Duluth. His research interests include the examination of how consumers perceive prices and evaluate advertised deals and marketing implications of e-commerce. His research has been published in several journals, including Journal of Retailing, Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science, Journal of Business Research, Journal of Marketing Education, Journal of Product and Brand Management, and Journal of Business and Psychology, and in the proceedings of several national and international marketing conferences including ACR. He also currently serves as executive director of the Association for Consumer Research. His primary teaching interests are behavioral pricing and technology-supported analysis of user-generated content.


Amy Ledin
Office Manager

Positions, Nominations, and Elections

The Board of Directors shall consist of the following:

  • Four individuals elected from this corporation’s members to fill the officer positions of this corporation, including the President, President-elect, immediate Past President, and Treasurer,
  • Three individuals to fill the roles of the Academic-Non-Profit-Government Director, the Academic-Industry Director and the International Director, and
  • A minimum of two other individuals to fill the board positions of Directors-at-Large.

Each year one individual will be elected to the office of the President-elect for a three-year term. The President-elect shall assume the duties of President-elect on January 1 of the first year following election, the duties of President on January 1 of the second year following election, and the duties of Past-President on January 1 of the third year following election.

Every other year, one individual shall be elected to serve as a Treasurer-in-Training. On January 1 of the first year following election, the duties of the Treasurer-in-Training shall be to work closely with the Treasurer to prepare to serve as this corporation’s Treasurer in the following year. On January 1 of the second year following election, the Treasurer-in-Training shall become the Treasurer and serve in that position for a two-year term. During the first one-year training period, the Treasurer-in-Training shall not be a member of the Board of Directors but shall automatically become a member of the Board of Directors the following year upon becoming the Treasurer.

Three individuals shall be elected for three-year terms with the elections to be staggered (one elected per year). Of these Directors, one shall represent the academic-non-profit- government perspective, one shall represent the academic-industry perspective, and one shall represent the Association’s members outside of the USA and Canada. All Directors-at-Large shall be elected for two-year terms with the elections to be staggered so that their terms expire in approximately equal numbers each year. All directors described in this section shall assume their duties on January 1 of the year following their election.

No Director can serve two consecutive terms in the same position and can serve no more than six years consecutively on the board in all positions.

Nominations and Voting Procedure:

  1. The Nominating Committee shall consist of (1) the immediate Past President, who shall serve as its Chair; (2) the President-elect; (3) Directors-at-Large appointed by the Immediate Past President; and (4) one member of the Association, who is not serving as a Director, appointed by the immediate Past President with due consideration to such member’s experience in the affairs of the Association, regional location, and scholarly perspectives with the goal of constituting the committee to achieve balance.
  2. The Nominating Committee shall be named not less than ninety (90) days prior to the annual meeting of the Association and notice of the composition of such committee shall be given promptly thereof to all members of the Association entitled to vote.
  3. Members of the Association entitled to vote may nominate themselves, or may nominate any other member by the date specified in the call for nominations.
    At least sixty (60) days prior to the annual meeting of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall advise the Executive Director of the names of up to ten Nominees for each position. Nominees will be solicited for their agreement to stand for election by the nominating committee. Nominees that confirm to stand for election in writing will stand for election. If more than ten nominations were received, the first ten Nominees will stand for election.
  4. Upon receipt of the report of the Nominating Committee, but in no event less than forty-five (45) days prior to the annual meeting, the Executive Director shall prepare a ballot, showing the names of the Nominees and the last date upon which ballots may be received and counted, and shall disseminate said ballots to all of the members of the Association entitled to vote in such election. Along with the ballot, information about the Nominees and the positions they are running for shall be disseminated as well.
  5. Approval voting will be used. Approval voting enables members of the association to vote for all candidates they approve for a position – i.e., they can endorse one, a few, all, or none of the candidates for a position. All valid ballots submitted within the time limit prescribed on the ballot shall be counted by the Executive Director. The persons receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected to the offices for which they were nominated. In case of a tie the winner will be determined by a runoff election between the tied candidates. The immediate Past President who had chaired the Nominating Committee shall monitor the votes.
  6. Any vacancy arising subsequent to an election of an officer or director shall be filled by the Board of Directors for the balance of the term then outstanding with a temporary appointment.