Association for Consumer Research

Simonson Mentorship Award: Call for Nominations

ACR members are invited to nominate potential candidates for the Simonson Mentorship Award. The award, launched in 2023, is given annually to honor mentorship of doctoral students. The inaugural award was given in 2023 to Dr. John G. Lynch Jr. (University of Colorado Boulder). This year’s award will be presented at the Awards Luncheon at ACR Conference, 2024.

Recipients of this award must have obtained their doctoral degree at least 10 years prior to the year of the award. Nominees for the current award must have received their PhD on or before 2014. Past nominees may be re-nominated but will require a new nomination packet from the same or different nominators. Award recipients must be ACR members when they receive the award, but they can become members prior to the conference.

To submit a nomination for the Simonson Mentorship Award, nominators should ensure they are current ACR members and provide:

  • Either one letter of nomination co-written by at least three former or current PhD students (two-page maximum length), or at least three individual letters written by former or current PhD students (one page maximum length for each letter). Nomination letters must come from people not serving on the selection committee.
  • A current vita for the nominated scholar

All material should be submitted electronically by July 1, 2024, through the ACR website at:

Selection Process:
Each year, a selection committee of five ACR Members is appointed by the ACR President. This year’s selection committee consists of Aner Sela, Anat Keinan, Jonathan Levav, Maura Scott, and Peeter Verlegh. The committee will select one award winner based on their history of successful doctoral mentorship and contributions to doctoral education.