Association for Consumer Research

Early Career Award: Call for Nominations

ACR members are invited to help identify potential candidates for the ACR Early Career Award for Contributions to Consumer Research. This award will be presented at the Awards Luncheon at ACR 2024. The award, launched in 2010, is given annually to honor excellent research contributions of one or more consumer behavior researchers who received their PhD between 5 and 8 years ago. Last year’s winner was Alixandra Barasch (University of Colorado Boulder).

Selection Process:
Each year, a panel of five ACR members is appointed by the ACR President to serve as a selection committee. The panel will solicit nominations from the ACR membership and select one or more recipients of the award for their scholarly contributions to the field of consumer research. All nominees require one nomination letter from someone not serving on the selection committee. Award selection criteria include innovation, methodological rigor, and the potential to substantially advance our understanding of consumer behavior. Nominees may be re-nominated in future years if they are still eligible but will require a new nomination packet (from the previous or a new nominator).

Recipients of this award are expected to be relatively regular members of ACR (active memberships in three of the last five years) and should have obtained their doctoral degree between five and eight years prior to the year of the award. Nominees for the current award must have received their PhD sometime between 2016 and 2019.

To submit a nomination for the ACR Early Career Award for Contributions to Consumer Research, nominators should ensure they are current ACR members and provide:

  • One letter of nomination (one page maximum length; self-nominations are acceptable). The nomination letter must come from someone not serving on the selection committee.
  • A current vita for the nominated scholar
  • Three papers that are representative of the nominee’s contribution.

This year’s selection committee consists of Tonya Bradford, Philip Fernbach, Rebecca Reczek, Stijn van Osselaer, and Gal Zauberman.

The deadline for nominations is July 1, 2024.